dancing with the dead

Posted: February 11, 2012 in Uncategorized

In Cherry Blossoms, one of my favorite dance films, a young Japanese dancer says to a grieving widower:  “Anybody can dance butoh. The young can dance butoh. The old can dance butoh. The living, the dead. Anybody can dance butoh.”

Over the past couple of weeks I’ve been visited by no less than four (probably more) images of dead loved ones.  I shouldn’t be surprised, since I’ve been busy sharing my dreams with a partner from the Momobutoh Dance Company.  As partners, Alissa and I share dream images, and then paint and draw and write and dance with these images. This kind of intense dream work brings up unexpected memories and visions and stories.

Early in our sharing, Alissa and I discovered that both of us lost sisters. Alissa shared a beautiful letter with me from her sister. From this, I painted images.  Using those images, I danced inspired by  lines, colors, and images from the paintings.

When dancing the paintings about Alissa’s sister, I felt very close to Cindy.

I have to admit, though, that I was feeling a little jealous not to have a letter from my sister, too. The next time I checked my email, my brother had sent these pictures from what seems like a dreamy long time ago.

This morning, shortly after my dance, I had two dreams. The first was really nasty and disgusting and involved my mother who had passed. (you don’t want to know) The second included my very vibrant and happy Grandmother who hugged me for a long long time.  I can still feel the starched cotton dress on my cheek.

Leave a Reply

